AmaVida
River · built 2013 · 102 guests

AmaVida

AmaWaterways · AmaWaterways Douro ship (260 ft, 102 guests)

Photo: Ein Dahmer, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Is she right for you?

Wine lovers doing Portugal's Douro Valley with a pool on deck.

Think twice if: Douro locks and summer heat; only one main restaurant.

See her Europe sailings ↓ · Where is she now? → · AmaWaterways's page for this ship →

At a glance

What she's like

Size & feelRiver ship

Docks close to the town centre in most ports. Under 200 guests, so no lines and no tender boats.

Who you'll sail with

English; announcements and lectures in English. Sold mainly to North Americans in USD (fleet file).

Price level$$$$$

Our judgment, from $ (budget) to $$$$$ (ultra-luxury).

Included in the fare

All meals; wine, beer and soft drinks with lunch and dinner; daily Sip & Sail cocktail hour before dinner in Europe; Wi-Fi; every excursion in Europe (up to six guided tours a day, small groups); port charges in US prices. Not included: premium drinks, gratuities, some tours on select sailings.

Children

Minimum age 4; under 5 not recommended; no kids' programs or childcare; under-18s share a cabin with an adult

What to wear

Comfortable and casually elegant; something dressier for Welcome and Farewell dinners

Where & when

Where she sails in Europe

Douro

We don't have her sailing-by-sailing schedule yet. See the line's site for dates.

Your real budget

What it costs beyond the fare

Tips for the crewNot included. Suggested: crew EUR 125 per guest per 7-night cruise (about EUR 18/day; EUR 145 on AmaMagna) plus Cruise Manager EUR 30 (about EUR 4/day) †; Added to your bill automatically? No; can be prepaid
Drinks packageNot offered as a named package on FAQ; premium drinks and imported wines sold by the drink
Wifiincluded
Specialty restaurantsThe Chef's Table restaurant on most Europe ships; reserve once on board; no surcharge stated
Money on boardEUR (cash or credit card; no Amex or prepaid cards)

† From an independent source, not the line itself. Confirm with the line or your travel agent before you book.

How tipping and money work on a European cruise → · Build a full trip budget →

Her restaurants · 1 included, 0 extra

Where to eatCost
Main RestaurantIncluded
Choosing your cabin

Which cabin to book, and which to avoid

Cabin typeSizeDecks
Suite (S): Outside Balcony323 sq ftPorto Deck
Category A (A): Outside Balcony215 sq ftPorto Deck
Category C (C): French Balcony161 sq ftPorto Deck
Category B (B): Outside Balcony215 sq ftLisbon Deck
Category D (D): Panoramic Window161 sq ftDouro Deck
Category E (E): Panoramic Window161 sq ftDouro Deck

Good to know before you pick

  • The lift reaches the lowest cabin deck.
  • The lift does not reach the sun deck.
  • Porto Deck (3) cabins are below the Sun Deck; the pool is near the forward end of the cabin block, per plan positions
  • Cabins with windows that don't open: 1 (Douro Deck): D/E, described as 'Panoramic Window' (not opening).

If you use a wheelchair or walk with difficulty

Elevator and some staterooms for guests with mobility needs (per official page, but that answer appears copied from AmaViola). Elevator reaches main decks on Europe ships but not the Sun Deck; notify in writing as early as possible; 'accessible facilities may not be available' on board or ashore. Telecoil induction loops on request. Elevators: Elevator midship; reaches Porto, Lisbon and Douro Decks (all cabin decks); does not reach the Sun Deck (ship page) Our accessibility guide →

Deck plans

Find your way around

Our own deck plans, drawn from the line's official plan: tap a deck to see it from above, with what's at the front, middle and back of the ship. Use “Find on board” to light up every deck with a pool, a bar or a restaurant. Not to scale.

  1. Deck 4 · Sun Deck , Pool; Wheelhouse (unlabelled structure)
  2. Deck 3 · Porto Deck , Suites and balcony cabins; Elevator; Boutique; Reception; The Lark Lounge & Bar
  3. Deck 2 · Lisbon Deck , Outside-balcony cabins (B); Elevator; Fitness; Journeys Restaurant
  4. Deck 1 · Douro Deck , Panoramic-window cabins (D, E); Elevator; Spa

Open AmaWaterways's official deck plan →

Deck Plans tab on the ship page

Planning your trip

What to book, and when

Booking, check-in and reservations

Deposit $400 per person (Europe). Final payment 90 days before travel. Complete the 'Your Cruise Check-In' portal before departure, including independent flight/hotel details. Boarding from 3 p.m. in Europe.

Paying and cancelling

$200 at 121+ days, $400 at 120-90, 35% at 89-60, 50% at 59-31, 100% from 30 days (Europe). Optional Travel Waiver Plus allows cancel for any reason up to 31 days out.

Tips for her Europe sailings

Ships often 'double dock' side by side, so you may walk through another ship's lobby and use narrow gangways. Christmas Markets, wine and beer theme sailings offered.

Where she docks

Not stated as town centre; line warns of double docking and alternate docking locations in water problems

If the river is too high or too low

Contingency plans: alternate docking locations, modified excursions, or ship swaps

How much walking on the included tours

Choice of gentle walking tours, active hikes or bike rides each port; audio headsets provided

Low bridges and the sun deck

Not addressed on official FAQ; Sun deck can be closed by crew under low bridges. †

Before you go

The details

The ship in numbers

Cruise line
AmaWaterways
Kind of ship
River
Built
2013
Guests
102
Crew
38
Cabins
51
Guest decks
4
Length
79 m (259 ft)
Width
10 m (33 ft)
Flag
Portugal
Class
AmaWaterways Douro ship (260 ft, 102 guests)
Sister ships
AmaDouro, AmaSintra
In Europe 2026–27
Douro
Worth knowing

Highlights

  • Sun Deck: pool, walking track
  • Fares include meals, wine and beer with lunch and dinner, Wi-Fi and shore excursions (per ship FAQ)
  • Rivers: Douro (Portugal and Spain)
On board & ashore

More pictures

Sources & what we could not confirm · 7 sources · checked 2026-11
Still being confirmed
  • Class label is ours (AmaWaterways publishes class names only for some ships, e.g. "Concerto-class" on the AmaVenita page).
  • Year built from Wikipedia fleet table (secondary); AmaWaterways ship page does not state it.
  • Flag and beam from VesselFinder (registry aggregator).
  • The AmaVida page's mobility answer names "AmaViola" and Violin/Cello decks (copy error on the official page); elevator details not reliable.
  • AmaWaterways: Suggested gratuity euro amounts are from a secondary site; AmaWaterways shows them only in its My Cruise portal.
  • Deck plan: Sun Deck structure forward is unlabelled on the image; assumed wheelhouse
  • Deck plan: Plan shown for AmaDouro; AmaSintra and AmaVida assumed to match