Adults who want a calm, port-focused cruise with a small-ship feel and no casino.
Think twice if: Brand-new ship and new fuel technology: first sailings may see schedule changes, so book with flexible terms.
See her Europe sailings ↓ · Where is she now? → · Viking (Ocean)'s page for this ship →
What she's like
Easy to find your way around. Fewer crowds getting off in port. About 54 tons of ship per guest. As a rule of thumb, 40 or more feels roomy and under 30 feels busy.
Adults only ('No children under 18'). Nationality mix not published on pages checked.
Our judgment, from $ (budget) to $$$$$ (ultra-luxury).
Veranda stateroom, all eight onboard restaurants at no extra charge, beer/wine/soft drinks with lunch and dinner, all-day coffee and tea, one shore excursion in every port, Wi-Fi ('No charge for Wi-Fi'), enrichment. Airport transfers only when air is bought from Viking.
No children under 18.
No formal nights ('No formal nights, butlers or white gloves'); exact evening code not published.
Where she sails in Europe
We don't have her sailing-by-sailing schedule yet. See the line's site for dates.
What it costs beyond the fare
| Tips for the crew | SECONDARY source; Viking's own pages checked did not state a gratuity amount. Daily amount unknown. |
|---|---|
| Drinks package | Silver Spirits Beverage Package $27 USD per person per day (drinks up to $18; 15% service charge included); both guests in the cabin must buy it for the whole cruise; 21+ only. |
| Wifi | Included ('No charge for Wi-Fi'). |
| Specialty restaurants | Included (eight dining options, 'all with no additional charge or fee'). |
| Money on board | USD for US-market fares; onboard currency not published. |
How tipping and money work on a European cruise → · Build a full trip budget →
Her restaurants · 0 included, 0 extra
| Where to eat | Cost |
|---|---|
| The Restaurant | Not stated |
| Manfredi's Italian Restaurant | Not stated |
| The Chef's Table | Not stated |
| World Café | Not stated |
| Aquavit Terrace | Not stated |
| Mamsen's | Not stated |
| Wintergarden (afternoon tea) | Not stated |
| Pool Grill | Not stated |
| Room service (24-hour) | Not stated |
Which cabin to book, and which to avoid
The line doesn't publish cabin sizes for this ship that we could find.
Good to know before you pick
- Wheelchair-accessible staterooms are Penthouse Junior Suites #6020 and #6021 (Viking ship page)
If you use a wheelchair or walk with difficulty
Penthouse Junior Suites #6020 and #6021 are listed as wheelchair accessible. Our accessibility guide →
Find your way around
We couldn't read this ship's deck plan deck by deck yet, so the drawing shows only how many guest decks she has.
What to book, and when
Booking, check-in and reservations
$25 deposit (promotion, Nov 2026, US residents); 2026 sailings: pay in full by Nov 30, 2026 or 120 days before departure, whichever comes first (dates vary by year).
Tips for her Europe sailings
International flights bought from Viking depart the US one day before check-in date.
The ship in numbers
- Cruise line
- Viking (Ocean)
- Kind of ship
- Premium
- Built
- 2026
- Guests
- 998
- Cabins
- 499
- Gross tons
- 54,300
- Length
- 239 m (784 ft)
- Width
- 31 m (101 ft)
- Class
- Viking ocean ship (Viking Star class, enlarged 998-guest version)
- Ship number
- IMO 9852468
- Sister ships
- Viking Vela, Viking Vesta, Viking Mira, Viking Astrea
Highlights
- Billed by Viking as the world's first hydrogen-powered cruise ship: liquefied hydrogen and fuel cells, able to run with zero emissions
- Delivery scheduled for November 2026; first season in the Mediterranean and Northern Europe
- Newer, slightly larger Viking design: 998 guests in 499 all-veranda staterooms (vs 930 on the older sisters)
- Fewer than 1,000 guests on every Viking ocean ship (Viking fleet page)
- Indoor main pool under a glass roof plus an infinity pool (Viking ship page)
Sources & what we could not confirm · 10 sources · checked 2026-11
- Viking official ship page: Viking Libra
- Viking: Destination-Focused Dining (venue list)
- Viking (cruise line) fleet table (Wikipedia, secondary)
- VesselFinder registry entry
- Viking press release: Float out of the world's first hydrogen-powered cruise ship (Mar 19, 2026)
- Viking: Silver Spirits Beverage Package
- Viking: Did you know (what Viking is not)
- Viking: travel information (payment)
- Viking Oceans home page (shore excursion in every port)
- CruiseDirect: What's included, Viking Ocean (secondary)
- Viking ship pages load the deck plan in an interactive viewer that could not be read as text; decks left null.
- Viking's dining page names the venues but does not say which carry a charge; cost left null.
- Flag not yet confirmed for this ship (VesselFinder shows Italy while at the builder; Wikipedia lists Norway as planned).
- Viking (Ocean): Gratuity amount and whether auto-added (only secondary source says not included)
- Viking (Ocean): Dress code details
- Viking (Ocean): Smoking
- Viking (Ocean): Cancellation schedule
- Viking (Ocean): Wheelchair/tender policy
- Viking (Ocean): Onboard currency
